UF MHA Advisory Council re-instated

March 26, 2024

It’s great to be a Florida Gator.

UF MHA is excited about the reinstatement of the UF MHA Advisory Council! The organization itself is emblematic of why it’s great to be a Florida Gator – the rich and lasting community gained. In recognition of the value the community brings to the UF MHA program, the Advisory Council is reaching out to UF MHA Alumni and friends to unite behind our purpose to enrich the UF MHA Program by harnessing the power of our Alumni network.

While the UF MHA family gathers in one of its longest-running program traditions – at ACHE Congress – UF MHA Alumni are invited to sign up to serve on the UF MHA Advisory Council. The time commitment is manageable and yet the impact is significant. 

Four Committees have been created around focus areas which the Advisory Council believes cultivate an outstanding Program. These include:

  1. Student and Faculty Engagement: Supporting student and faculty recruitment, and marketing goals. Maintaining a HASA Partnership (incorporate the student voice into the Advisory Council).
  2. Curriculum and Industry Pulse: Evaluating program-learning goals and providing feedback. This includes accreditation support, providing guidance on seminar topics/speakers, and offering enrichment opportunities.
  3. Professional Career and Development: Identifying and communicating in-demand skills, fostering industry connections, and providing career guidance.
  4. Alumni Engagement: Planning and publicizing events for Alumni to enable meaningful student connections as well as providing financial resources to the program in order to further program goals.

 With the input of UF MHA alumni, the UF MHA Advisory Council will provide measurable impact by identifying and prioritizing initiatives, and, in partnership with Dr. Lee Revere, Chair of the UF Department of Health Services Research, Management and Policy, and Dr. Keith Benson, UF MHA Program Director, the Advisory Council will support execution of these program priorities.

We welcome those interested to sign-up by completing an interest survey.

Advisory Council Membership:

  • Membership is open to all UF MHA alumni and friends.
  • No dues are assessed.
  • Each member will be asked to make a 1-, 2-, or 3- year commitment (member’s choice) to one of the identified Committees.
  • Council members are expected to provide input and effort to support the objectives of the Advisory Council.
  • Initial engagement has been ~25 Alumni interested.

Leadership Structure & Accountability:

  • Four members of the Advisory Council will be selected as Committee Chairs to lead the work in each area.
    • These Chairs are accountable for setting priorities, establishing plans, and ensuring execution by the Committee.
    • Will report progress at regular intervals and maintain strong engagement among Committee members.
  • The Committee Chairs (volunteer 2-year commitment) will form the Advisory Council Board, which will also include a Board Chair (elected 1-year commitment).
  • The 2024-2025 UF MHA Advisory Council Board includes:
    • Carlton Inniss – Alumni Engagement Chair
    • Leilani Johnson – Student & Faculty Engagement Chair
    • Mary Kate Flynn – Curriculum & Industry Pulse Chair
    • Suneel Modani – Professional & Career Development Chair, Board Chair ‘24-’25